Your Support

Graduate Student Gregory Simchick has been selected to attend the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting in June 2019

March 6, 2019

Gregory is one of 580 scientists selected from 88 countries who will hear talks by, meet, and network with 42 Nobel Laureates

Gregory Simchick

One of our graduate students, Gregory Simchick, has been selected by the review panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings to participate in the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting taking place from June 30th to July 5th, 2019 in Lindau, Germany. Once every year, more than 30 Nobel Laureates convene in Lindau to meet the next generation of leading scientists: 500-600 undergraduates, PhD students, and post-doc researchers from all over the world. The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings foster the exchange among scientists of different generations, cultures, and disciplines. This year, 580 of the most qualified young scientists from 88 countries are given the opportunity to enrich and share the unique atmosphere of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.

This year's 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting is dedicated to physics; key topics are cosmology, laser physics, and gravitational waves. Fourty two Nobel Laureates have already confirmed their participation – including the 2018 laureates in physics Donna Strickland and Gérard Mourou. The selected young scientists are outstanding undergraduates, PhD students, and post-docs under the age of 35, conducting research in the field of physics. They have successfully passed a multi-stage international selection process. Greg had to pass three selection steps: being one of the two students nominated by UGA, being the one student nominated by Oak Ridge Associated Universities, and finally being accepted from the meeting's young scientist committee. All expenses (travel, lodging, and meals) are being covered by either the Lindau Foundation or Oak Ridge Associated Universities. About 140 science academies, universities, foundations and research-oriented companies contributed to the nominations.

In the past, there were four UGA physics graduate students selected and participated in Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, Wilson Smith (58th meeting in 2008, currently is an associate professor at Delft University of Technology, the Netherland), John Gibbs (60th meeting in 2010, currently is an assistant professor at Northern Arizona University), George Larsen (62th meeting in 2012, currently is a staff scientist in Savannah River National Laboratory), and Whitney Ingram (65th meeting in 2015, currently is a staff scientist in Sandia National Laboratory).

Link to the official press release related to the young scientist selection:

Latest Posts